Orange Juice: Coals To Newcastle Box Set


Absolutely everything Orange Juice recorded, assembled expertly by Kris Gillespie of Domino Records. Sparkling remastering and attention to detail, it received Mojo's catalogue re-issue award for 2010, the Domino edition sold out pretty quickly and so we've repressed.

Six CDs, one DVD, original sleeve artwork, rare photos and mementos, an essay by Simon Goddard, all in a neat book and box.

This review, with thanks to Paul Lester, puts it better than we can:

It is impossible to overstate the importance of Orange Juice, and even though part of their project was to puncture the pomp and seriousness of the rock canon, they must now be regarded as an enormously significant band which proved pivotal not once but twice. First, in providing a bridge between dour post-punk and the shiny early-80s "new pop" of ABC, Heaven 17 et al; and then in pointing a way out of that funky cul de sac by re-embracing guitar music, just as The Smiths were asserting their faith in classic rock principles at the height of new romantic synthmania.

In many ways, Orange Juice – with that deceptively innocuous name, so evocative of their aesthetic – were superior to The Smiths, more multifaceted and complex (they hailed their lack of worldliness but were nothing if not knowing). And their frontman Edwyn Collins was like Morrissey only with a more advanced sense of irony and a better, more varied record collection. Morrissey’s raffish wit and arch olde-worlde language were already in place on those early Orange Juice singles for Postcard – where Moz sang Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now, Edwyn exclaimed, "Ye gods, I’m simply thrilled, honey" – while Johnny Marr’s Byrds fetish was pre-empted by the charged jangle of Blue Boy et al.

On this massive anthology – comprising 130 tracks, including dozens of excellent unreleased tracks and previously unavailable material, plus a DVD of videos and TV/live performances – you get a sense of the breadth of Orange Juice’s remit during their six-year career. Disc one begins with the (ironically) naive exuberance of Falling and Laughing from early 1980, when Collins and company were making radical claims to being equal parts Velvet Underground and Chic, but it’s not till Poor Old Soul that the guitars become funkily rhythmic. You have to wait until the end of disc two and the bonus cuts tacked on after the You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever album to see their full transformation from indie guitar band to the electro-pop hit-makers of Rip It Up, their top 10 single from 1983.

Together, these six CDs tell a story, and by the end of each you get a glimpse of the next chapter (rockabilly energy on disc four’s Texas Fever; enervated rock-soul by disc five’s final self-titled affair). Meanwhile, the DVD shows how great OJ looked, whether in their early days, when Edwyn sported his Roger McGuinn fringe, or during their brief chart phase. A timely reminder of all that rings true.

--Paul Lester

And with that, we give you the full tracklisting for Coals To Newcastle:

disc one: the glasgow school
01. Falling And Laughing
02. Moscow
03. Moscow Olympics
04. Felicity (live)
05. Blue Boy
06. Lovesick
07. Simply Thrilled Honey
08. Breakfast Time
09. Poor Old Soul, Pt. 1
10. Poor Old Soul, Pt. 2
11. Louise Louise
12. Three Cheers for Our Side
13. (To Put It in A) Nutshell
14. Satellite City
15. Consolation Prize
16. Holiday Hymn
17. Intuition Told Me, Pt. 1
18. Intuition Told Me, Pt. 2
19. Wan Light
20. Dying Day
21. Texas Fever
22. Tender Object
23. Poor Old Soul (French version)
24. Poor Old Soul (instrumental version)
25. Simply Thrilled Honey (live)
26. Botswana (live)
27. Time to Develop (live)
28. Blue Boy (live)

disc two: you can't hide your love forever
01. Falling And Laughing
02. Untitled Melody
03. Wan Light
04. Tender Object
05. Dying Day
06. L.O.V.E. Love
07. Intuition Told Me, Pt. 1
08. Upwards And Onwards
09. Satellite City
10. Three Cheers For Our Side
11. Consolation Prize
12. Felicity
13. In A Nutshell
14. Intuition Told Me, Pt. 2
15. Moscow
16. You Old Eccentric
17. Two Hearts Together (10" version)
18. I Can't Help Myself (7" version)
19. Tongues Begin to Wag
20. Barbeque

disc three: rip it up
01. Rip It Up
02. A Million Pleading Faces
03. Mud In Your Eye
04. Turn Away
05. Breakfast Time
06. I Can't Help Myself
07. Flesh Of My Flesh
08. Louise Louise
09. Hokoyo
10. Tenterhook
11. Rip It Up (12" version)
12. Snake Charmer
13. Lovesick (re-recording)
14. Flesh Of My Flesh (7" version)
15. Lord John White And The Bottleneck Train (12" version)
16. Flesh Of My Flesh (12" version)
17. All That Ever Mattered

disc four: texas fever
01. Bridge
02. Craziest Feeling
03. Punch Drunk
04. The Day I Went Down To Texas
05. A Place In My Heart
06. A Sad Lament
07. Out For The Count
08. Bridge (Summer '83 version)
09. Poor Old Soul (re-recording)
10. Leaner Period
11. Move Yourself
12. The Day I Went Down To Texas (flexi version)
13. Craziest Feeling
14. Bridge
15. The Day I Went Down To Texas
16. A Place In My Heart
17. Out For The Count
18. Punch Drunk

disc five: the orange juice
01. Lean Period
02. I Guess I'm Just A Little Too Sensitive
03. Burning Desire
04. Scaremonger
05. The Artisans
06. What Presence?!
07. Out For The Count
08. Get While The Gettings Good
09. All That Ever Mattered
10. Salmon Fishing In New York
11. What Presence ?! (12"version)
12. A Place In My Heart (12" dub version)
13. In A Nutshell (live)
14. Simply Thrilled Honey (live)
15. Dying Day (live)
16. Bury My Head In My Hands
17. Lean Period (12" dub version)
18. Rip It Up (live)
19. What Presence?! (live)
20. Burning Desire (Alexis mix)
21. All That Ever Mattered (alternate version)

disc six: BBC sessions
01. Poor Old Soul
02. You Old Eccentric
03. Falling And Laughing
04. Lovesick
John Peel October 1980
05. Upwards And Onwards
06. Wan Light
07. Felicity
Richard Skinner January 1981
08. Dying Day
09. Holiday Hymn
10. Three Cheers For Our Side
11. Blokes on 45
John Peel August 1981
12. Mud In Your Eye
13. I Can't Help Myself
14. In Spite Of It All
15. Turn Away
Kid Jensen April 1982
16. What Presence?
17. Salmon Fishing In New York
18. Bridge
Kid Jensen February 1984
19. Orange Juice BBC interview part one
20. Orange Juice BBC interview part two

disc seven: dada with the juice
music video:
Rip It Up
What Presence?

Old Grey Whistle Test:
I Can't Help Myself
Rip It Up
What Presence?
Out For The Count

Dada With The Juice:
Salmon Fishing In New York
Dying Day
Falling And Laughing
In A Nutshell
Simply Thrilled Honey
A Place In My Heart
Craziest Feeling
Rip It Up
Poor Old Soul
What Presence?!
The Day I Went Down To Texas
All That Ever Mattered / Diana

This DVD is Region 2, PAL Format


, , ,